I've been down since Wednesday with a cold.
Missing run tally- 3, Missing miles tally- approx 27
This blows.
But. Not much to be done about it, when you can't breathe properly, you're never gonna survive 15 miles, so its better to not push it.
If I rest up, I'll try a short one on Monday and see if I'm ready to get back out there- which I think I will be. Fortunately it's just a cold- nothing major. I'm still able to get myself moving when I need to.
I also was able to take the time to let a friend who is a genius physical therapist analyze the problems I've been having with my foot. He was amazing and figured out the problem - which shockingly was not what I had self diagnosed(sarcasm)- and give me advice and homework.
I pledge to be diligent about my homework starting today. Then when I get back out on Monday I will impart the advice on my stride as well. All told, I should be able to get back into the training plan relatively quickly without taking huge hit on the overall plan. I will have to adjust, and there's still a chance I will have to embrace my plan B race instead of the plan A one, BUT all signs point towards being able to continue on my intended path at this point.
One thing that was confirmed by my genius friend- this marathon will almost certainly be my only one. I'm fine with half marathons, and I actually think I can increase the amount of them I do per year if I want to, but the toll on my body with the longer distances might not work with my bio mechanics. That's fine. I really only wanted to do the one anyway. I don't feel the need to be in pain constantly forever- a few months, fine, no big deal, but there's no need to make it a permanent way of life.
So, I shall heal, and do homework to align myself better, and then get back out there. I know it will hurt sometimes, and that there will be days which involve tears and ice baths and questioning everything. There will also be a day where I accomplish my goal and feel intense pride and it will all be worth it.
Gotta keep striving toward something bigger and better or whats the point to anything? Can't live life avoiding the things that are uncomfortable or scary or you never really live.
No comments:
Post a Comment